SYMPOSIUM HARTE ZEITEN / CIĘŻKIE CZASY 

Symposium Harte Zeiten.png

Saturday, September 25th, 2021

 

From 10:00 a.m., lectures of the speakers are available on YouTube (about 20 minutes each):

 

Link will be available soon

 

From 4:00 p.m., Online Symposium with discussion in the Zoom Meeting:

 

 

The discussion is also broadcast on Facebook.

Guests can ask questions via Zoom Chat or by email:

kim.behm@port25-mannheim.de

tomasz-zielinski@galeriabwa.bydgoszcz.pl

Cordial invitation

 

The exhibition and symposium HARTE ZEITEN / CIĘŻKIE CZASY are part of a cooperation between the Künstlerbund Baden-Württemberg, the PORT25 – Raum für Gegenwartskunst Mannheim and the Galeria Miejska bwa in Bydgoszcz.

The symposium will explore concepts of artistic freedom, art education, the function and significance of culture for society and politics in Western and Eastern Europe.

Artists are bridge builders, despite and beyond national-political differences. The symposium HARTE ZEITEN / CIĘŻKIE CZASY therefore particularly encourages dialogue, both artistic and cultural and socio-political, in times when the political and social climate is becoming noticeably harsher, polarising and confusing. The theme of the symposium is to reflect in depth on cultural conditions, their differences and similarities in both countries and beyond, in a free exchange. This includes talking across disciplines about the perception of art and culture in the other country, about fragmentation, gaps, supposed interpretive sovereignty, misunderstandings, overlaps and coherence, and about artistic-aesthetic traditions and conditions.

MODERATION: 

Kasia Lorenc

Kasia Lorenc studied German philology and German as a foreign language in Krakow and Frankfurt am Main. As a cultural manager and literary scholar with several years of experience in project conception and organisation, she initiated and accompanied numerous events at home and abroad. Since the beginning of 2020, Kasia Lorenc has been working as a curatorial assistant for Neue Galerie Gladbeck. As a freelancer, she advises and accompanies artists in various matters, proofreads and translates.

SPEAKERS:

Dr. Joanna Kiliszek

The Polish cultural manager and curator was one of the jurors for the selection of the European Capital of Culture 2016 in Poland in 2010-2011 on behalf of the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage. In 2013, she was a member of the jury of the design competition for the 55th Biennial in Venice. She is, among other things, the author of the publication "Values and Evaluation of Modern and Contemporary Visual Art. The Role of Reflective Practice – Collection of The Museum of Art in Łódź 1931–2018".

Paulina Olszewska

The curator, project manager and art consultant lives in Warsaw and Berlin. Her reviews, interviews and critical texts have been published in many international magazines, such as Mocak Forum, Contemporary Lynx, Atlántica, The Naked and Tagesspiegel. She is the author of numerous texts for catalogues and art publications. Since 2009 Paulina Olszewska has been working as an independent curator and has curated exhibitions with international artists in numerous European institutions. Since 2019 she has been working as a curator for the public gallery Galeria Studio in Warsaw.

Simone Rueß

After studying Fine Arts at the State Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart (2002–2008), the artist spent four years in Warsaw, supported by the DAAD as well as by the Landesgraduiertenförderung of the Ministry of Research, Science and Art Baden-Württemberg. She showed her investigations into spaces in solo exhibitions, e.g. at Galeria Le Guern, Warsaw (2016). In 2013, she was commissioned by the Bęc Zmiana

Foundation, Warsaw, a seating sculpture for a temporary summer pavilion in the Powiśle district of Warsaw. She has received numerous grants.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich

 

Wolfgang Ullrich was a lecturer at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich between 1997 and 2003, and a visiting professor at the Hamburg University of Fine Arts and the Karlsruhe University of Design. Since 2006, he has been professor of art studies and media theory there, and since 2014 prorector for research. He resigned from his professorship in 2015. Since then he has been working as a freelance author. Wolfgang Ullrich deals with the history and critique of the concept of art, with questions of the sociology of the image and with consumer theory. In his publications Ullrich methodically places art on a par with other visual phenomena, such as images from advertising, photojournalism or propaganda, e.g. Wahre Meisterwerte. Stilkritik einer neuen Bekenntniskultur, Wagenbach 2017; Feindbild werden. Ein Bericht, Wagenbach 2020.

Prof. Dr. Schamma Schahadat

 

Professor of Slavic Literature and Cultural Studies at the University of Tübingen, her research interests include Russian and Polish Studies, the study of genres and spaces that interact with various discourses and power formations, and Gender Studies. She also focuses on Russian symbolism as well as drama, theatre and film theory. Since 2007, she has also been involved in the doctoral research group "Abgrenzung – Ausgrenzung – Entgrenzung: Gender als Prozess und Resultat von Grenzziehungen" (Boundary –

Exclusion – Dissolution of Boundaries: Gender as a Process and Result of the Drawing of Boundaries). She is a member of the Cultural Studies Network and a Trusted Lecturer at the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes (German National Academic Foundation).

 

 

Further Information:

 

https://www.galeriabwa.bydgoszcz.pl

https://www.kuenstlerbund-bawue.de

 

 

 

 

With the kind support of:

BASF Tor 4.png
Förderer.png
Partner-HZ.png

SYMPOSIUM HARTE ZEITEN / CIĘŻKIE CZASY 

Symposium Harte Zeiten.png

Samstag, 25. September 2021

 

Ab 10.00 Uhr sind Lectures (je ca. 20 Min.)

der Referent*innen hier abrufbar.

Ab 16.00 Uhr Online Symposium
mit Diskussion im Zoom-Meeting

 

 

Die Diskussion wird auch auf Facebook übertragen.

Gäste können Fragen via Zoom-Chat oder per E-Mail stellen:

kim.behm@port25-mannheim.de

tomasz-zielinski@galeriabwa.bydgoszcz.pl

Die Ausstellung und das Symposium HARTE ZEITEN / CIĘŻKIE CZASY sind Bestandteile einer Kooperation des Künstlerbundes Baden-Württemberg, dem PORT25 – Raum für Gegenwartskunst Mannheim und der Galeria Miejska bwa in Bydgoszcz.

Mit dem Symposium werden Konzepte der Kunstfreiheit, der Kunstvermittlung, der Funktion und Bedeutung von Kultur für Gesellschaft und Politik im Westen und Osten Europas untersucht.

Künstler*innen sind Brückenbauer, trotz und jenseits national-politischer Differenzen. Das Symposium HARTE ZEITEN / CIĘŻKIE CZASY regt deshalb insbesondere dazu an, in Zeiten, in denen das politische und gesellschaftliche Klima spürbar rauer, polarisierend und unübersichtlich wird, in Dialog zu treten sowohl künstlerisch als auch kultur- und gesellschaftspolitisch. Thema des Symposiums ist, über Kulturbedingungen, deren Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten in beiden Ländern und über diese hinaus in freiem Austausch nachzudenken. Dazu gehört Disziplinen übergreifend über die Wahrnehmung der Kunst und Kultur des jeweils anderen Landes zu sprechen, über Fragmentierungen, Fehlstellen, vermeintliche Deutungshoheit, Missverständnisse, Überschneidungen und Kohärenzen und über künstlerisch-ästhetische Traditionen und Bedingungen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie bei den Videos Untertitel ein- und ausschalten können und dass Sie die Sprache auf You Tube in den Einstellungen wählen können.

 

MODERATION:


 

Kasia Lorenc

Kasia Lorenc studierte Deutsche Philologie und Deutsch als Fremdsprache in Krakau und Frankfurt am Main. Als Kulturmanagerin und Literaturwissenschaft-lerin mit mehrjähriger Erfahrung in der Projektkonzeption und -Organisation initiierte und begleitete sie zahlreiche Veranstaltungen im In- und Ausland. Seit Anfang 2020 ist Kasia Lorenc als kuratorische Assistentin für die Neue Galerie Gladbeck tätig. Freiberuflich berät und begleitet sie Künstler*innen in diversen Belangen, arbeitet als Lektorin und Übersetzerin.

REFERENT*INNEN:

Dr. Joanna Kiliszek


Die polnische Kulturmanagerin und Kuratorin war in den Jahren 2010-2011 im Auftrag des Ministeriums für Kultur und Nationales Erbe eine der Juroren bei der Auswahl der Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2016 in Polen. Im Jahr 2013 war sie Mitglied der Jury des Designwettbewerbs für die 55. Biennale

in Venedig. Sie ist u.a. Autorin der Publikation "Werte und Bewertung der modernen und zeitgenössischen bildenden Kunst. The Role of Reflective Practice – Collection of The Museum of Art in Łódź 1931–2018"

Paulina Olszewska

Die Kuratorin, Projektmanagerin und Kunstberaterin lebt in Warschau und Berlin. Ihre Rezensionen, Interviews und kritischen Texte wurden in vielen internationalen Magazinen veröffentlicht, wie z.B. Mocak Forum, Contemporary Lynx, Atlántica, The Naked oder Tagesspiegel. Sie ist Autorin von zahlreichen Texten für Kataloge und Kunstpublikationen. Seit 2009 ist Paulina Olszewska als unabhängige Kuratorin tätig und hat Ausstellungen mit internationalen Künstlern in zahlreichen europäischen Institutionen kuratiert. Seit 2019 arbeitet sie als Kuratorin für die öffentliche Galeria Studio in Warschau.

Simone Rueß

Nach dem Studium der Bildenden Kunst an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart (2002–2008) verbrachte die Künstlerin vier Jahre in Warschau, unterstützt durch den DAAD sowie durch die Landesgraduierten-förderung des Ministeriums für Forschung, Wissenschaft und Kunst Baden-Württemberg. Ihre Untersuchungen zu Räumen zeigte sie in Einzelausstellungen, z.B. in der Galeria Le Guern, Warschau (2016). 2013 entwarf sie im Auftrag der Bęc Zmiana Foundation, Warschau, eine Sitzskulptur für einen temporären Sommerpavillon im Stadtteil Powiśle in Warschau. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich


Wolfgang Ullrich war zwischen 1997 und 2003 Dozent an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München, als Gastprofessor an der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg und der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. Seit 2006 war er dort Professor für Kunstwissenschaft und Medientheorie, seit 2014 Prorektor für Forschung. 2015 legte er seine Professur nieder. Seitdem arbeitet er als freier Autor. Wolfgang Ullrich befasst sich mit der Geschichte und Kritik des Kunstbegriffs, mit Fragen der Soziologie des Bildes und mit Konsumtheorie. In seinen Publikationen stellt Ullrich die Kunst methodisch auf eine Stufe mit anderen visuellen Phänomenen, wie z.B. Bildern aus Werbung, Fotojournalismus oder Propaganda: z.B. Wahre Meisterwerte. Stilkritik einer neuen Bekenntniskultur, Wagenbach 2017; Feindbild werden. Ein Bericht. Wagenbach 2020.

Prof. Dr. Schamma Schahadat


Die Professorin für Slavische Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft an der Universität Tübingen hat ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte neben Russistik und Polonistik in der Erforschung von Genres und Räumen, die in Wechselwirkung mit verschiedenen Diskursen und Machtformationen stehen sowie Gender Studies. Des Weiteren legt sie einen Fokus auf den russischen Symbolismus und auf Drama, Theater und Filmtheorie. Überdies beteiligt sie sich seit 2007 am Promotionsverbund „Abgrenzung – Ausgrenzung – Entgrenzung: Gender als Prozess und Resultat von Grenzziehungen“ Sie arbeitet im Netzwerk Kulturwissenschaft mit und ist Vertrauensdozentin der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes.

 

 

Weitere Informationen und Links zu den Lectures 

und dem Zoom Meeting:

 

https://www.galeriabwa.bydgoszcz.pl

https://www.kuenstlerbund-bawue.de

 

 

 

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

BASF Tor 4.png
Förderer.png
Partner-HZ.png